Monday, September 21, 2015

Chief Justice of Nigeria swears in 21 lawyers in the rank Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN)

The Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Mahmud Mohammed has today sworn in 21 lawyers in the rank Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) to usher in the 2015/2016 legal year.
Here are the new SANs: 
Prof. Maxwell Gidado, Dr Tahir Mamman, Dr Akinpelu Onigbinde, Prof. Paul Idornigie, Dr Oladapo Olanipekun, Dr Muiz Banire, Ibrahim Bawa, Samuel Zibiri and Aderibgbe Adedeji.
Others are Emmanuel Aguma, Abinbola Akeredolu, Olumuyiwa Akinboro, Gordy Uche, Uchechukwu Obi, Kehinde Eleja, Edward Ashiekaa, Joseph Bamigboye, Benson Nwankwo, Emeka Etiaba, Patrick Okolo and Adeniyi Adegbonmire.

Mohammed, while swearing in the new silks, urged them to avoid corrupt practices to promote service delivery and fair judgment.
He stressed the need for more result-oriented steps to substantially reduce the procedural clogs in Nigeria's judicial system.
“The time has come for us all legal practitioners to be grounded in justice delivery, in seeking to uphold the rule of law, judicial reform and the end to corruption.
There is, therefore, an urgent need to address the speed of justice dispensation and the backlog of cases pending in our various courts.
“Frivolous appeals should ideally not continue to clog our courts' cause lists thereby causing undue delays and backlog,” he warned.

No comments: